Home > Specification > Content

Arctic Council Flag

Jul 08, 2017


Arctic Council

The Arctic Council is a high-level intergovernmental forum which addresses issues faced by the Arctic governments and the indigenous people of the Arctic. The Ottawa Declaration of 1996 formally established the Arctic Council as a high level intergovernmental forum to provide a means for promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, with the involvement of the Arctic Indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues, in particular issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic. Member States of the Arctic Council are Canada, Denmark (including Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Finland, Iceland,Norway, Russian Federation, Sweden, and the United States of America.
In addition to the Member States, the Arctic Council has the category of Permanent Participants. This category is open equally to Arctic organizations of indigenous peoples with a majority of Arctic Indigenous constituency representing a single Indigenous people resident in more than one Arctic State; or more than one Arctic Indigenous people resident in a single Arctic State. 

About the Flag

Its flag is white with its emblem, which is a arctic fox and the globe from North Pole representing the area where this organization operates.

I found updated info about flag of Arctic Council. English name of the Council in blue letters is placed under two globes.