Home > Specification > Content

Caribbean Community and Common Market Flag

Jun 10, 2017


The Caribbean Community and Common Market was founded in 1973. Members include: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat,Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad-and-Tobago. The seat is in Georgetown (Guyana).

About the Flag

Flag: Horizontally divided, light blue over dark blue. A yellow disc, centered, with two interlaced black C. 'Light blue is for the sky and dark blue for the sea. The yellow disc represents the sun. The black letters are the initials of the Caribbean Community' (DK Ultimate Flag Pocket Book).

The flag was introduced in Nassau, Bahamas on 4 July 1984 on the occasion of the fifth Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government. The original design was done by the firm of Winart Studies of Georgetown, Guyana, but was substantially modified by the Conference of Heads of Government in July 1983.

The official explanation of the symbolism of the design and colours is as follows:

"The flag of the Caribbean Community shall have a blue background with the upper part being of a light blue to represent the sky and the lower part being dark blue to represent the sea of the Caribbean. Centred on the background shall be a yellow circle representing the sun on which shall be printed the logo of the Community - two interlocking Cs in black. Outside this circle shall be a narrow ring in green representing the vegetation of the Region".