Home > Specification > Content

Central European Initiative Flag

Jun 03, 2017


The Central European Initiative (CEI) is an intergovernmental forum promoting political, economic, cultural and scientific cooperation among its Member States. Its core mission is: Regional Cooperation for European Integration. 
The aim of the political cooperation is to supply the countries and their institutions with a flexible, pragmatic platform for regional cooperation, while focusing on their preparation to a future accession to the European Union (EU). The CEI is actively engaged in supporting projects in various areas of cooperation, also through the mobilisation of financial resources providing greater possibilities for studying, financing and executing national and international projects.
It was formed in Budapest in 1989, but the headquarters are based in Trieste (Italy) since 1996. Currently it has 18 member states: Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine. (9 EU members, and 9 non-EU members).