Home > Specification > Content

Cooperation Council of Turkic-Speaking States Flag

Jul 03, 2017



The Turkic Council is an international inter-governmental organization of countries with Turkic languages as their national official language and includes Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Turkey, which were the four founding members in 2009. Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan are «possible future members». Its full name is Cooperation Council of Turkic-Speaking States (Türk Dili Konuºan Ülkeler ݺbirliği Konseyi in Turkish).

The Flag

Turkic-speaking countries have agreed on a single flag at their summit in Bishkek. The statement came from Turkish Foreign Minister Ahmet Davutoglu. He said the flag combines the symbols of four countries. "The flag combines the Sun on the flag of Kyrgyzstan, blue color of the flag of Kazakhstan, the star of the Azerbaijani flag and the crescent of the Turkish flag. Our countries will move forward thanks to this unity". He said that no project are possible in Eurasia without the participation of a Turkic state. 

In the summit of Bishkek 25 August 2012 was adopted a flag to represent the countries (not peoples) speaking Turkish languages.
The flag is blue (Kazakh color) with a white sun (Kyrgyzstan), within the sun a half moon (Turkey) and a eight-pointed star (Azerbaijan)

Its flag is light blue (the Turanist/Pan-Turkic color) with a central device in white. It combines elements of the national flags of its four founding members, namely the Turkish crescent and the Azeri star (both light blue) on the Kyrgyz sun (in white) on the Kazakh background.