Home > Specification > Content

Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa Flag

Jun 26, 2017


About the organization 

In June 1959, the "Union Douanière Équatoriale" (UDE, Equatorial Customs Union) was created by the Centrafrican Republic, Congo, Gabon and Chad. The former French colonies of Oubangui-Chari, Moyen Congo, Gabon and Chad, formerly known as "Afrique Équatoriale Française" (AEF, French Equatorial Africa) formed that year the "Union des Républiques de l'Afrique Centrale" (Union of the Republics of Central Africa), which was dissolved in August 1960 when the four countries were granted full independence. Cameroon joined the UDE in 1961. On 8 December 1964, the five countries created in Brazzaville (Congo) the "Union Douanière et Économique de l'Afrique Centrale" (UDEAC, Customs and Economic Union of Central Africa); Equatorial Guinea joined in 1983. On 16 March 1994 in N'Djamena (Chad), the UDEAC was transformed into the "Communauté Économique et Monétaire de l'Afrique Centrale" (CEMAC, Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa) in N'Djamena. The CEMAC has its seat in Bangui (Centrafrican Republic).

The 9th Summit of the CEMAC opened in Yaoundé (Cameroon) on 24 June 2008. The 8th Summit was closed on 25 April 2007 in N'Djamena (Chad); during the ceremony, following the use, President of Chad Idriss Déby (who won't attend the Yaoundé meeting because of unrest in Chad) transferred the official flag of CEMAC to Ephraïm Inoni, the Prime Minister of Cameroon.

Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa
Communauté Economique et Monetaire d'Afrique Centrale

It is an Economic Community of the African Union for promotion of regional economic co-operation in Central Africa. It "aims to achieve collective autonomy, raise the standard of living of its populations and maintain economic stability through harmonious cooperation".
The Customs and Economic Union of Central Africa established by the Brazzaville Treaty in 1966, formed a customs union with free trade area between members and a common external tariff for imports from other countries. UDEAC signed a treaty for the establishment of a Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (CEMAC) to promote the entire process of sub-regional integration through the forming of monetary union with the Central Africa CFA franc as a common currency;

The flag

I have not found any image of the flag, but I guess that it is white with the CEMAC emblem in the middle. The emblem of CEMAC can be seen on the organization website.

Its flag is yellow with its emblem in the center of the flag. Emblem shows map of Africa, a white star placed in Central Africa with its rays southwards. Disk is flanked by olive branches, and abbreviation of organization is placed bottom.
 Flag is hoisted in front of its headquarters together with member states flag. A large flag as decoration is placed on the wall behind the presidents during their summit