Home > Specification > Content

Flag of European Free Trade Association

Apr 06, 2017

[Flag of EFTA]

Presentation of EFTA

The members of EFTA are:

  • Iceland

  • Liechtenstein

  • Norway

  • Switzerland

The history of EFTA membership is as follows:

  • 1959: Austria, Denmark, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • 1961: Austria, Denmark, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom / Finland (associate member)

  • 1965 : Austria, Denmark, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom / Finland, Liechtenstein (associate members)

  • 1970: Austria, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom / Finland, Liechtenstein (associate members)

  • 1973: Austria, Iceland, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland / Finland, Liechtenstein (associate members)

  • 1986: Austria, Iceland, Finland, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland / Liechtenstein (associate member)

  • 1991: Austria, Iceland, Finland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland

  • 1995: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland

Flag of EFTA

Right across from several European Union buildings in Brussels is one of the secretariat of EFTA, the European Free Trade Association, which still exists, and is nowadays composed of just four member states : Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. The flags of these four nations, and the EFTA flag adorn this building.

The EFTA Secretariat Annual Report for 2004, shows the logotype of EFTA including the flags of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, the black letters "EFTA" and a thick line with a thinner line underneath. The report also includes a photo which shows that there really is a flag - and the twin line is shown. There is no way of telling from the photo what the flag ratio should be. However, I note that the flags of the four member states which appear on the logo/flag are all standardised to the same ratio, which seems to be about 1:1.4.