Home > Specification > Content

Lake Chad Basin Commission Flag

Jun 26, 2017


The Lake Chad Basin Commission (LCBC or CBLT, Commission du Bassin du Lac Tchad, in French) is an intergovernmental organization that oversees water and other natural resource usage in the basin. The organization's secretariat is located in N'Djamena, Chad. Hydrologically, the Chad Basin (not all of which feeds Lake Chad) includes eight countries, which, in descending area of land, included are: Chad, Niger, the Central African Republic, Nigeria, Sudan, Algeria, and Libya. 
Cameroon, Niger, Nigeria and Chad (the four countries directly containing parts of Lake Chad and its wetlands) signed the Fort Lamy (today N'Djamena) Convention on May 22, 1964, which created the Lake Chad Basin Commission. The Central African Republic joined in 1996, and Libya joined in 2008.

The Flag

The flag ot he LCBC is orange with the seal of the organization in the center.