Home > Specification > Content

Multinational Force and Observers Flag

Jul 07, 2017


Multinational Force of Observers

MFO - Multinational Force of Observers in Sinai is a force that was established under Israel-Egypt peace treaty. It is not a UN force but is sponsored by both sides and USA.  

The Sinai MFO flag is a bright orange flag that flies at its two headquarters and in the observation posts and checkpoints along the peninsula. The Sinai area is considered a military zone. The flag is composed by a circle with the MFO words and logo in the center of an orange background. The logo is composed by well-known peace symbols: dove and olive branch in white but fimbriated in red.

The Multinational Force & Observers (MFO) peacekeeping force supervises implementation of the security provisions of the Peace Treaty between the Governments of Egypt and Israel in the Sinai Desert and the Strait of Tiran and Gulf of Aqaba. The MFO logo is a white dove with a white olive branch, as a symbol of peace, on a circular logo with the words MULTINATIONAL FORCES & OBSERVERS, on orange and white background. 

The mission of the MFO is to supervise the implementation of the security provisions of the Egyptian-Israeli Treaty of Peace and employ best efforts to prevent any violation of its terms. Article II of Annex I to the Treaty of Peace establishes four security zones, three in the Sinai in Egypt and one in Israel along the international border. Limitations on military forces and equipment within each zone are stipulated in Annex I to the Treaty. To execute the assigned mission, the Treaty Parties assigned to the MFO the following tasks:

  • Operation of checkpoints, reconnaissance patrols, and observation posts along the international boundary and Line B, and within Zone C.

  • Periodic verification of the implementation of the provisions of Annex I, to be carried out not less than twice a month unless otherwise agreed by the Parties.

  • Additional verifications within 48 hours after the receipt of a request from either Party.

  • Ensure the freedom of navigation through the Strait of Tiran.

The countries that make up the MFO are eleven as follows:

  • Australia

  • Canada

  • Colombia

  • Fiji

  • France

  • Hungary

  • Italy

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Uruguay

  • United States