Home > Specification > Content

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Flag

Jul 04, 2017


About the flag

The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation is a permanent intergovernmental international organisation proclaimed in Shanghai on June 15, 2001 by six countries - People's Republic of China, Russian Federation, Republic of Kazakhstan, Republic of Kyrgyzstan, Republic of Tajikistan and Republic of Uzbekistan. It was established on the basis of the "Shanghai Five" mechanism."

The other four member states notwithstanding, the SCO is in practice basically a Sino-Russian bilateral body, dedicated to promoting joint political positions and coordinating military activities. Their flag is the organization's seal on a white field; a scan of the site suggests it was probably adopted sometime between September 2001 and January 2002, based on when it began appearing in the background in summit photos. The logo is available at http://www.sectsco.org/html/00074.html; it is a greenish disc containing a blue stylized globe with the outlined territories of the member states appearing in its upper half and with with 3 latitudinal and longitudinal lines showing, and its bottom half elided into the shape of three waves.