Home > Specification > Content

Union of South American Nations Flag

Jun 20, 2017



The Union of South American Nations, set up on the model of the European Union, was made official on 23 May 2008, and its flag was unveiled during the inauguration ceremony. The treaty setting up UNASUR ("Tratado Constitutivo de la Unión de Naciones Suramericanas") was signed on 23 May 2008 in Brasilia by the heads of state or government of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Surinam, Uruguay and Venezuela. The treaty was inspired by the Declarations of Cuzco (8 December 2004), Brasilia (30 September 2005) and Cochabamba (9 December 2006). UNASUR aims at the cultural, social, economical and political integration of the South American peoples.

The name of UNASUR in the official languages of the Union is:
- Spanish: Unión de Naciones Suramericanas;
- Portuguese: Uniăo de Naçőes Sul-Americanas;
- English: Union of South American Nations;
- Dutch: Unie van Zuid-Amerikaanse Naties.

A South American Parliament should be elected and based in Cochabamba, Bolivia, while the headquarters of the Union will be based in Quito, Ecuador.

The Flag

The flag of UNASUR is a navy blue horizontal flag with the logo (in inverted colors) and no letters in, as seen here:
(Picture taken during Ecuador's pro tempore Presidency)
An image of the flag is seen here: