Home > News > Content

Bundoora Claim Flag In Thriller

Sep 25, 2017

blob.pngflag supplier-johnin

Bundoora defied the odds to claim the Northern Football League division 1 premiership in a thriller on Saturday.

The Bulls entered the match as underdogs, with Macleod clearly the best side all season.

The Bulls had to make the grand final the hard way, while Roos had last week off.

For much of the game the Bulls were in front, but the Roos kept coming all day.

They hit the front twice in the last quarter, but the Bulls had all the answers.

A goal with less than two minutes to go was enough to seal the 10.16 (76)-10.13 (73) win for the Bulls.

The premiership is the Bulls’ first since 2013, with several players playing in that game, the 2011 premiership and this year’s grand final.

The Bulls kicked with a strong wind in the first quarter, notching up 11 scoring shots to one, but were unable to fully capitalise and led by just 20 points at the first break.

That margin was back to four points at half-time, the Roos having dominated that second quarter with the wind.

A four goal-to-three third quarter in the Bulls’ favour, set up an exciting final quarter. The Bulls had a 10-point lead and the Roos were kicking with the wind.

The Roos kicked the first two goals to hit the front five minutes into the quarter before the Bulls steadied through goals to Todd Hughes and Isaac Muller.

When Cathal Corr and Nick Lynch goaled in quick succession, the Roos were up by two points 18 minutes into the quarter.

In the next 11 minutes of back-and-forth, hard-fought football, only a point to the Roos was scored.

Then up stepped Bulls veteran Gary Moorcroft.  He marked inside the forward 50 to have a shot to put his side back in front.

As he’s done so many times in his career, Moorcroft slotted the goal. It put the Bulls three points up 29 minutes into the quarter.

It proved to be the match-winning goal, with Bundoora celebrations erupting a couple of minutes later.

Moorcroft kicked three goals for the Bulls, as did Isaac Muller.

Bulls ruckman Matthew Dennis was awarded the best on ground medal just days after winning his third Frank Rosbrook Medal for the best-and-fairest player in division 1.

David Mitchell, Scott Dowell and Joseph Palazzolo were other standouts for the Bulls.